← Back to lists Time Tracking

Deputy vs When I Work (2026): Price, Compliance and Kiosks

Deputy and When I Work are the two shift scheduling apps with a built-in time clock that hourly operators compare most. When I Work is cheaper and simpler: from $2.50 per user with no minimum, scheduling on every plan, GPS and geofence clock-in, and payroll integrations from the cheapest tier. Deputy costs more per head, charges a $30 monthly minimum and counts managers as users, and in return puts labor law compliance rules on its cheapest plan, a face-unlock biometric kiosk on Core, demand-based scheduling, and its own payroll add-on. Small shift teams should start with When I Work; hospitality and retail groups with fair workweek obligations should price Deputy.

This comparison uses October 2026 prices from both vendors' pages, worked out at 5, 15 and 50 people, and reports the two things those pages leave ambiguous, When I Work's time and attendance placement and Deputy's billing basis, rather than guessing at them as the pages that rank for this query do.

The verdict

When I Work for most small shift teams: from $2.50 per user with no minimum, scheduling on every plan, GPS and geofence clock-in, and payroll and point-of-sale integrations from the cheapest tier.

Deputy when compliance and rostering complexity are the job: labor law rules on the cheapest plan, a face-unlock biometric kiosk on Core, demand-based scheduling, and its own payroll add-on. It carries a $30 monthly minimum and counts managers as users.

Read the pricing pages carefully. When I Work's page contradicts itself on which plan includes time and attendance; Deputy's does not say whether its listed prices are monthly or annual. Get both in writing before you sign.

Side by side, October 2026

When I WorkDeputy
PlansEssentials $2.50, Pro $5, Premium $8 per user per month; no annual prices publishedLite $5, Core $6.50, Pro $9 per user per month; annual billing saves 10%; page does not state whether listed prices are annual or monthly
MinimumNone stated$30 per month per invoice since September 1, 2025; admins and managers count as users
Free planNo; 14-day trial without a cardNo; trial on Lite and Core
SchedulingAll plans; built for multi-location shift teamsAll plans; advanced scheduling with demand forecasting on Core
Time clockGPS and geofence clock-in; time and attendance shown as a toggle, with the page inconsistent on which plan includes itTime clocking on Lite; biometric kiosk with face unlock on Core; geolocation clock-in blocking
Compliance rulesNot stated on the pricing pageLabor law compliance on Lite (breaks, overtime, fair workweek rules)
PayrollPayroll and POS integrations on Essentials and above; Rippling partner offerPayroll and HR integrations on Lite; Deputy Payroll (Paycor-powered) $8 per user plus $49 base, US only, annual Core and Pro
Add-onsNone listedHR $2, Messaging+ $1.95, Analytics+ $1.50 per user; SMS at 1 cent per message
API and SSOPremiumPro
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android, kiosk

What each costs at 5, 15 and 50 people

Plan5 people15 people50 peopleNote
When I Work Essentials ($2.50)$12.50$37.50$125Monthly list price; single-location per the FAQ
When I Work Pro ($5)$25$75$250Multi-location per the FAQ
When I Work Premium ($8)$40$120$400API, SSO
Deputy Lite ($5)$30$75$250$30 minimum applies at 5 people; managers count
Deputy Core ($6.50)$32.50$97.50$325Biometric kiosk, advanced scheduling
Deputy Pro ($9)$45$135$450API, SSO, Pro features

At October 2026 list prices. Deputy's annual discount of 10% and its $30 minimum are applied where stated; When I Work publishes no annual rate. Deputy Payroll adds $49 plus $8 per user.

Where each is built to work

When I Work is a scheduler first. The product is built around publishing a schedule, letting staff swap and pick up shifts, and clocking them in against it, across one location on Essentials and several on Pro. It is the cheaper, simpler product, and for a team that mainly needs the roster and a clock that records where people punched, it does the job at $2.50 to $5 per user. The weaknesses are on the pricing page itself: the plan cards and the FAQ disagree about whether time and attendance is included or an add-on, no annual rate is published, and no kiosk is named.

Deputy is built for the operator who has to prove compliance: labor law rules that warn or block on breaks, overtime and fair workweek requirements sit on the cheapest plan, the face-unlock kiosk on Core stops buddy punching, and demand-based scheduling forecasts staffing against sales. It costs more per head, charges a $30 monthly minimum, counts managers as seats, and sells HR, messaging and analytics as add-ons, but for hospitality and retail groups with complex rosters it is the more complete tool. Both appear in our shift scheduling review and our clock in clock out app review.

Which one fits

Two tools, so the chooser shows the better fit and the margin.

Each tool in detail

When I Work

When I Work

Cheap scheduling with a clock
Runs on Web, iOS, Android Pricing (October 2026) Essentials $2.50, Pro $5, Premium $8 per user per month; no annual rates published; time and attendance shown as a toggle on the pricing page; 14-day trial without a card

What it is

When I Work schedules hourly teams, with shift swaps and open shifts, and adds a time clock with GPS and geofence clock-in, payroll and point-of-sale integrations from Essentials, and an API and SSO on Premium. Its FAQ assigns $2.50 to single-location and $5 to multi-location teams, which the plan cards do not say.

Where it wins

  • From $2.50 per user with no minimum
  • Scheduling built for multi-location shift teams
  • Payroll and POS integrations on the cheapest plan
  • GPS and geofence clock-in

Where it loses

  • Pricing page inconsistent about time and attendance; confirm in writing
  • No kiosk named on the pricing page
  • No compliance rules engine stated
  • No annual pricing published

Choose it if

You want the roster and a clock at the lowest price and your compliance needs are simple.

Deputy

Deputy

Rostering with compliance and a biometric kiosk
Runs on Web, iOS, Android, kiosk Pricing (October 2026) Lite $5, Core $6.50, Pro $9 per user per month; annual billing saves 10%; $30 monthly minimum since September 1, 2025; admins and managers count as users; Deputy Payroll $8 per user plus $49 base; HR $2, Messaging+ $1.95, Analytics+ $1.50

What it is

Deputy pairs scheduling with labor law compliance on its cheapest plan, adds a biometric kiosk with face unlock and demand-based scheduling on Core, geolocation clock-in blocking, and an optional Paycor-powered payroll. It is strongest in hospitality and retail with complex rosters and fair workweek obligations.

Where it wins

  • Labor law compliance rules on Lite
  • Face-unlock kiosk on Core
  • Demand-based scheduling and forecasting
  • Own payroll add-on

Where it loses

  • $30 monthly minimum and managers count as seats
  • Add-ons for HR, messaging and analytics; SMS fees
  • Pricing page does not state annual versus monthly basis
  • No job costing

Choose it if

You need break and overtime rules enforced and a kiosk that stops buddy punching.

Moving between them

  1. Export employees and the current schedule period; both import employees from CSV.
  2. Confirm the plan contents in writing: When I Work's time and attendance placement and Deputy's billing basis are both ambiguous on the vendors' pages.
  3. Set break and overtime rules against your state's law in the new tool before the first shift.
  4. Rebuild the payroll integration once and run one pay period in parallel.

How this comparison was made

Both products were checked on the same criteria used across our tool reviews: published pricing and minimums, scheduling, clock-in methods, compliance features, payroll, add-ons and platforms. Prices and plan contents were read from wheniwork.com/pricing and deputy.com/pricing in October 2026, and the inconsistencies on those pages are reported rather than resolved by guesswork. No vendor paid for placement and there are no affiliate links.

Key takeaways

Frequently asked questions

Is Deputy or When I Work better?

When I Work for most small shift teams: cheaper, no minimum, scheduling and GPS clock-in on every plan. Deputy for hospitality and retail operators who need break and overtime rules enforced, a biometric kiosk and demand-based scheduling, and can carry a $30 monthly minimum.

Which is cheaper, Deputy or When I Work?

When I Work. Its plans run $2.50 to $8 per user per month with no minimum; Deputy's run $5 to $9 with a $30 monthly minimum and managers counted as users. For 15 people the comparable plans are $75 and $97.50 a month.

Does Deputy have a minimum?

Yes. Since September 1, 2025 Deputy applies a $30 minimum per monthly invoice, and administrators and managers count as users. A team of three on Lite pays $30 rather than $15.

Does When I Work include time tracking?

Its pricing page shows time and attendance as a toggle and its FAQ says every plan includes it, which conflict. Confirm in writing which plan carries the time clock before you sign.

Which has a kiosk?

Deputy, with a biometric face-unlock kiosk on its Core plan and above. When I Work's pricing page names GPS and geofence clock-in on phones but no kiosk.

Which enforces break and overtime rules?

Deputy lists labor law compliance on its Lite plan, covering breaks, overtime and fair workweek rules. When I Work's pricing page does not state a compliance rules engine.

Which has payroll?

Deputy offers its own Paycor-powered payroll at $8 per user plus $49 base, US only, on annual Core and Pro plans. When I Work integrates with payroll and point-of-sale providers from Essentials and has a Rippling partner offer, but does not run payroll.

Can I switch from When I Work to Deputy?

Yes. Export employees and the current schedule, import employees into Deputy from CSV, set the compliance rules for your state, rebuild the payroll connection and run one pay period in parallel.

← Back to lists